Committee to Protect Journalists to receive Dodd Prize in International Justice and Human Rights

The fourth biennial Thomas J. Dodd Prize in International Justice and Human Rights will be awarded to the Committee to Protect Journalists (CPJ) at a ceremony on UConn’s Storrs campus Monday, October 5.

Committee to Protect Journalists Logo

The Committee to Protect Journalists is an independent, nonprofit organization founded in 1981 that promotes press freedom worldwide by defending the rights of journalists to report the news without fear of reprisal.

The ceremony will take place at 11:00am on the plaza of the Thomas J. Dodd Research Center. Joel Simon, the executive director of CPJ, will accept the award on behalf of the organization. Featured speakers will also include Senator Christopher J. Dodd; Mariane Pearl, wife of slain Wall Street Journal reporter Daniel Pearl; and UConn President Michael Hogan.

For more information, please see the Dodd Prize website